Advisory Council

group photo of the TTI Advisory Council from their October 2014 meeting

The TTI Council meets annually to discuss issues relating to transportation research.

The Texas A&M Transportation Institute (TTI) Advisory Council is comprised of a small group of high-level transportation professionals from across the state of Texas and from every sector of the transportation world. The Council provides a tremendous service to the Institute by providing advice on transportation issues and trends, and supporting our research programs and initiatives.

These distinguished men and women formally meet with TTI leaders annually to help the agency advance its vision of being a premier higher-education-affiliated transportation research institute sought out by organizations from all over the world to solve transportation problems. In addition, during the year, we frequently meet with individual council members to help advance new research opportunities and resolve problems.

Texas is recognized as having one of the finest multimodal transportation systems in the world, which is due in part to the work of our Council members. We appreciate the contribution they provide to TTI and the State of Texas, and we value their input and ongoing support.

Dennis L. Christiansen
Agency Director

TTI Council Membership

Updated August 2015

Jack Albert
President, Reece Albert, Inc.
San Angelo, Texas

Bill Allaway
Senior Advisor, Texas Taxpayers and Research Association (TTARA)
President, TTARA Research Foundation
Austin, Texas

Al Alonzi
Texas Division Administrator, Federal Highway Administration (FHWA)
Austin, Texas

Jeffrey Arndt
President and CEO, VIA Metropolitan Transit
San Antonio, Texas

Robin Autenrieth
Department Head, Zachry Department of Civil Engineering, Texas A&M University
College Station, Texas

John Bartosiewicz
Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer, McDonald Transit Associates, Inc./RATP DEV
Fort Worth, Texas

Michael Behrens
Director, National Transportation Programs, Michael Baker Corporation
Yoakum, Texas

Rollin Bredenberg
Vice President, Service Design and Performance, Burlington Northern Santa Fe Railroad
Fort Worth, Texas

David Cain
President, David Cain Consulting
Dallas, Texas

Joel Camarano
Executive Director, Auto Underwriting Innovation and Development, United Services Automobile Association (USAA)
San Antonio, Texas

Dennis Christiansen
Director, Texas A&M Transportation Institute
College Station, Texas

James Crites
Executive Vice President, Operations Division, Dallas/Fort Worth International Airport
DFW Airport, Texas

Perri D’Armond
President and CEO, West Houston Association
Houston, Texas

Chuck Ellison
Founder and Principal, The Ellison Firm, Attorneys at Law
College Station, Texas

Roger Guenther
Executive Director, Port of Houston Authority
Houston, Texas

Judy Hawley
Texas Business Development Director, Advanced Acoustic Concepts
Corpus Christi, Texas

Kris Heckmann
Partner, Granite Public Affairs
Austin, Texas

Mike Heiligenstein
Executive Director, Central Texas Regional Mobility Authority
Austin, Texas

Roger Hord
Former President and CEO, West Houston Association
Houston, Texas

Thomas Johnson
Executive Vice President, Associated General Contractors of Texas
Austin, Texas

Bob Jones
Chairman, Jones & Carter, Inc.
Houston, Texas

Joe Keese
Former CEO and Director, TransPecos Banks
Pecos, Texas

Thomas Kornegay
Former Executive Director, Port of Houston Authority (Retired)
Houston, Texas

Thomas Lambert
President and CEO, Metropolitan Transit Authority of Harris County (METRO)
Houston, Texas

David Laney
Attorney, business and financial law
Dallas, Texas

Russell Laughlin
Senior Vice President, Hillwood Properties
Fort Worth, Texas

Carlos Lopez
HNTB, South and Central Texas Office Leader
Austin, Texas

James McCarley
Principal, James McCarley Consultants
Dallas, Texas

Drayton McLane Jr.
Chairman, McLane Group
Temple, Texas

Gregg Mitchell
President, Trinity Highway Products, LLC
Dallas, Texas

Tom Niskala
Transportation Planning Director, Corpus Christi Metropolitan Planning Organization
Corpus Christi, Texas

Arnold Oliver
HNTB Corporation
Wichita Falls, Texas

Lawrence Olsen
Executive Vice President, Texas Good Roads & Transportation Association
Austin, Texas

Colin Parrish
Principal, G&P Consulting
Austin, Texas

Doug Pitcock
Owner, Chairman of the Board and CEO, Williams Brothers Construction Company
Houston, Texas

Rene Ramirez
Founder and Owner, Pathfinder
McAllen, Texas

Herbert Richardson
Director Emeritus, Texas A&M Transportation Institute
College Station, Texas

Phil Ritter
Chief Operating Officer, Meadows Mental Health Policy Institute
Dallas, Texas

Amadeo Saenz
Former Executive Director, Texas Department of Transportation
Austin, Texas

Gary Slagel
President and CEO, CapitalSoft, Inc.
Richardson, Texas

Robert Spillar
Transportation Director, City of Austin
Austin, Texas

Mark Stiles
President, Stiles Land & Cattle, LLC, Italy, Texas
Dallas, Texas

Oscar Trevino
President and Owner, O. Trevino Construction
North Richland Hills, Texas

Gary Trietsch
Director, Harris County Toll Road Authority
Houston, Texas

Chase Untermeyer
International Business Consultant
Houston, Texas

Leonard Waterworth
Executive Professor, Maritime Administration, Texas A&M University at Galveston
Galveston, Texas

Linda Watson
President/CEO, Capital Metropolitan Transportation Authority
Austin, Texas

LtGen Joe Weber, USMC, (Ret)
Executive Director, Texas Department of Transportation
Austin, Texas