TTI Director Emeritus Herb Richardson Inducted into Texas Transportation Hall of Honor

Herb Richardson speaking at his Texas Transportation Hall of Honor induction ceremony.

Herb Richardson, director emeritus of the Texas A&M Transportation Institute (TTI) was inducted as the 39th member of the Texas Transportation Hall of Honor during a Feb. 19 ceremony at TTI. Established in 2000 to recognize those individuals who played significant roles in the development and advancement of Texas transportation, the Hall of Honor is … Read More

Probation Officers Receive Ignition Interlock Device, Alcohol Training

A driver blowing into an ignition interlock device.

Alcohol use plays a factor in nearly half of all crimes committed in Texas. Maury Dennis, senior research scientist with the Center for Alcohol and Drug Education Studies at the Texas A&M Transportation Institute (TTI), cites this as one reason Texas probation officers have such a heavy workload. Dennis is beginning his third year organizing … Read More

Carlson Honored with Regents Fellow Service Award


Paul Carlson, Ph.D., P.E., research engineer and head of the Operations and Design Division at TTI, has been presented with the Regents Fellow Service Award from the Texas A&M System Board of Regents. The award honors professionals in the eight A&M System agriculture and engineering agencies and is presented annually “to recognize and honor service, … Read More

TTI and UMTRI Form Alliance

LINK Alliance logo: TTI/UMTRI Alliance; People+Vehicles+Roadways

It’s the best of both worlds as the Texas A&M Transportation Institute (TTI) and the University of Michigan Transportation Research Institute (UMTRI) have joined forces in redefining transportation for a connected and automated world. The recently-formed initiative, named the LINK Alliance, is a combined effort to collaborate on new transportation research connecting people, vehicles and roadways in … Read More

TTI Researchers Contribute to the 2014 TRB Annual Meeting

January 2014 Texas A&M Transportation Institute at TRB graphic

Texas A&M Transportation Institute (TTI) researchers joined nearly 12,000 attendees from around the world at the 93rd annual meeting of the National Academy’s Transportation Research Board (TRB) Jan. 12-16 in Washington, D.C. This year’s attendance set a new record. “TTI researchers continue to play leadership roles in all aspects of TRB,” notes Katie Turnbull, TTI … Read More

TTI Research Sponsors Potentially Eligible for New Research and Development Tax Incentives

Worker looking through the window at TTI's Environmental Research Chamber.

Effective January 1, 2014, House Bill (HB) 800, passed by the Texas Legislature last year, created new tax incentives to attract research and development (R&D) activities to Texas. HB 800 allows taxable entities a choice between a sales tax exemption for materials, software and equipment used for R&D purposes and a state franchise tax credit … Read More

Save the Date — Traffic Safety Conference May 12-14

Traffic Safety Conference Save the Date May 12-14, 2014. Westin Riverwalk, 420 W Market St., San Antonio, TX.

Save the date for the 2014 Traffic Safety Conference. This year’s conference, sponsored in cooperation with USAA, the ATLAS Center and the Texas Department of Transportation, will be held May 12-14 at the Westin Riverwalk in San Antonio. Planning is underway for the conference and a preliminary program and registration information will be available soon. Hotel reservations can be made now … Read More

Briaud Gives Three Lectures In Russia


Jean-Louis Briaud — manager of the Geotechnical and Geoenvironmental Program at the Texas A&M Transportation Institute and Buchanan Chair Professor at Texas A&M University — continued his international travel this fall with three lectures at St. Petersburg, Russia, at the G. V. Plekhanov State Mining Institute and Technical University, also known as The Mining University … Read More

TTI/TAMUS Members Schedule of Presentations at TRB

January 2014 Texas A&M Transportation Institute at TRB graphic

TTI and Texas A&M University Zachry Department of Civil Engineering researchers were selected to present papers at the annual Transportation Research Board (TRB) meeting this month on multiple topics, ranging from infrastructure and safety, to economics and the environment. The PDF below contains a schedule of presentations at the upcoming TRB meetings.

TTI’s Environmental and Emissions Research Facility Shows Off Its Capabilities

Concrete truck in front of TTI's environmental and emissions research laboratory.

Though the weather has cooled off as winter approaches, it wasn’t very long ago that temperatures in Bryan, Texas, were reaching triple digits. Not exactly the perfect weather for cold-weather testing, right? For the Texas A&M Transportation Institute’s (TTI’s) Environmental and Emissions Research Facility (EERF), the hot weather outside proved no match for the icy … Read More